Change the Number of SQL Server Error Logs (Windows NT/2000/XP)

By default, Microsoft SQL Server 7.0 only stores seven error logs; Errorlog and Errorlog.1 through Errorlog.6. Since the log is re-created every time SQL Server is restarted you may want to keep more than seven logs archived.

1.Open your registry and find the key below.

2.Create a new DWORD value called 'NumErrorLogs' and set it to equal the number of archived logs you want to keep.

You may need to restart SQL for the change to become effective.

Registry Settings
Value Name : NumErrorLogs
Data Type : REG_DWORD (DWORD Value)
Value Data : default = 7

Disclaimer : Modifying the registry can cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. We cannot guarantee that problems resulting from modifications to the registry can be solved. Use the information provided at your own risk.